German Cole Slaw {DIY Wednesday}

I’m not a fan of cole slaw. I think it’s squishy and slimy and the taste isnt worth the effort of trying to get over the texture. That being said, there is one cole slaw that I dont just like, I love it.

It’s called German Cole Slaw.

Maybe it’s the bacon. Bacon fixes everything.

Anyway, this was my supper tonight. It would make a great addition to a summer meal, but I like eating it for the meal with some crackers on the side. I’m sure it helps that I’m not very hungry when it’s hot and it got pretty warm today. {Dreading summer… ugh.}

But it’s delicious, tangy, and the bacon adds a nice salty flavor and gives you something to chew. 😉

{German Cole Slaw}

3/4 c. Bacon {fried and crumbled}

2 c. Cabbage {grated or chopped}

2 T. Lemon juice

1 t. Salt

1/2 c. Mayonnaise

2 T. Parsley {chopped}

1 T. Onion {minced}

Optional:: I omitted

4 T. Green Pepper {chopped}

::Mix together::

Image

Image

Chop up the cabbage.

Image

And parsley.

{Raise your hand if you’re grateful that it’s summertime and we get fresh herbs again :raises hand:}

Image

Fry the bacon. Oh yum.

Image

Here’s a tip: microwave your lemon for 10-15 seconds then firmly roll on your counter before cutting. This will help you get the most juice out of your lemon.

Image

Image

Image

Drain the bacon on a paper towel.

Image

Add the bacon right before serving so that it stays crispy. Refrigerate leftovers {you probably wont have to worry about having leftovers ;)} but this is best eaten the same day.

Image

Add freshly ground pepper if desired.

Seriously. This is amazing. You should make it, eat it, and love it.

Stay beautiful,

~Alaina

One thought on “German Cole Slaw {DIY Wednesday}

  1. I don’t like coleslaw much either…but I think I could convert for this. Yes, it’s the bacon. I’m becoming a die-hard for the stuff. XD

Leave a Reply

